Skip to Main Content

Mission + Leadership

Mission Statement

The Wolfsonian–FIU uses objects to illustrate the persuasive power of art and design, to explore what it means to be modern, and to tell the story of social, political, and technological changes that have transformed our world. It encourages people to see the world in new ways, and to learn from the past as they shape the present and influence the future.


  • Founder

    Mitchell "Micky" Wolfson, Jr.

  • Director

    Tim Rodgers, Director
    Cathy Leff, Director Emeritus
    Peggy Loar, Founding Director

  • Advisory Board Members

    Gonzalo A. Acevedo | BAC Florida Bank
    Roger A. Baumann | Skin Type Solutions, Inc.
    Mehmet Bayraktar | Flagstone Development
    Abbey Chase | Chase Marketing Group
    Suzi Rudd Cohen
    Jacqueline Weld Drake
    Kevin Gray | Kevin Gray Designs
    Henry Hacker
    Susan Hakkarainen | Lutron Electronics Co., Inc.
    Anita Herrick
    Vicki Gold Levi
    Ray Marchman (board president)
    Sunny Neff | Western Global Airlines
    Juan Bergaz Pessino
    Tom Ragan
    Zachary Rawling
    Sandra Seligman
    Terry Schechter
    Eric Silverman | Eastham Capital
    Sara Solomon
    Gregory Viejo | Wells Fargo Private Bank
    Susan Weber | Bard Graduate Center
    Betty Wohl
    Jeri L. Wolfson
    Louis Wolfson III | Venture W Corporation & Pinnacle Housing Group
    Mitchell “Micky” Wolfson, Jr. | The Wolfson Initiative
    Richard Saul Wurman

  • Advisory Board Ex-Officio Members

    Richard Brilliant | Chairperson | FIU Foundation Board
    Kenneth Furton | Provost & Exec. VP Academic Affairs | FIU
    Milagros “Milly” Garcia Chica | Interim Assistant VP | FIU Foundation & DSO
    Dan Gelber | Mayor | City of Miami Beach
    Sandra Gonzalez-Levy | Sr. VP External Relations | FIU
    Kenneth Jessell | CFO, Sr. VP Finance & Administration | FIU
    Howard Lipman | Sr. VP University Advancement | FIU
    Michelle Lorenzo Palacio | VP Government Relations | FIU
    Joy Malakoff | Commissioner | City of Miami Beach
    Aime Martinez | Assoc. VP | FIU
    Jimmy L. Morales | City Manager | City of Miami Beach
    Rafael Prohias | Sr. University Counsel | FIU
    Mark B. Rosenberg | President | FIU
    Brian Schriner | Dean College of Arts + Administration | FIU
    Stephen A. Sauls | Emeritus VP Government Relations | FIU

  • Advisory Board Emeritus Members

    Ashley Melisse Abess
    Susanne Birbragher
    Alex Bogusky
    Alberto R. Cardenas
    Walter Chatham
    Peter L. Corsell
    Charles Cowles
    L. Jay Cross
    Baudouin Croonenberghs
    Alberto Eiber
    Neil Flanzraich
    Bernardo Fort-Brescia
    Mary Frank
    Manual Gonzalez
    Rene Gonzalez
    Steve Guttman
    Henry S. Hacker
    Jay Haft
    Steve Heller
    Fred Hochberg
    Erika Hoffman
    Hannes Hofmann
    Michael Holden
    Alex Hurst
    Iran Issa-Khan
    Yolanda Cash Jackson
    Pamela Johnson
    Neisen Kasdin
    Nasir Kassamali
    George Knox
    Michael N. Kreitzer
    Louise Levin
    Morris Levitt
    Carl Magnusson
    David Martin
    Richard Massey
    Finlay B. Matheson
    Kevin Miller
    Sharon Lombard Miller
    Steve Montifiore
    Michele Oka Doner
    Chad Oppenheim
    Jill Otto
    Dan Paul*
    Aurelia Reinhardt
    Susan Bell Richard
    Craig Robins
    Federico Sanchez
    Philip Scaturro
    Robert Schettig*
    David M. Schwarz
    Fred Sharf
    Derrick Smith
    Stephen Urice
    Mike Valdes-Fauli
    Massimo Vignelli*
    John Waddell
    Patricia Wallace*
    Gary Wasserman
    Robert Wennett
    Thom Wolek
    James Woolems
    James Zemaitis
    Bernard Zyscovich

  • Upcoming Advisory Board Meetings

    Thursday, September 19, 2019 | 4pm
    Thursday, November 21, 2019 | 4pm
    Thursday, February 20, 2020 | 4pm
    Thursday, May 21, 2020 | 4pm

    Real Estate Committee
    Thursday, September 5, 2019 | 2pm
    Thursday, November 7, 2019 | 2pm
    Thursday, February 6, 2020 | 2pm
    Thursday, May 7, 2020 | 2pm

    Finance Committee
    Thursday, September 5, 2019 | 4pm
    Thursday, November 7, 2019 | 4pm
    Thursday, February 6, 2020 | 4pm
    Thursday, May 7, 2020 | 4pm

    Nominating Committee
    Thursday, September 12, 2019 | 4pm
    Thursday, November 14, 2019 | 4pm
    Thursday, February 13, 2020 | 4pm
    Thursday, May 14, 2020 | 4pm

    All meetings will be held at The Wolfsonian at 1001 Washington Avenue.